This is not just a blog

It’s not even our blog. You own it too because we want to have a conversation with you. CONVERSATION. No preaching and no motherhood statements; just good natured folks talking about how to change the world. We don’t have the answers. Especially since the problems – rice shortages, grinding poverty, extra-judicial killings, among others – keep getting worse. Since the solutions of the older generation do not seem to be working, we want to get fresh ideas from the young on how to move this country forward.

So this blog is more than just a blog: It’s an idea of the future we wish for for ourselves. We all aspire for the same things – decent jobs, affordable housing, quality education (preferably free), and streets that are clean and safe for walking. So let’s do something about it. We don’t all have to join an NGO, enter public service, or set up an orphanage but we can at least talk about looking for solutions. And this doesn’t have to be a virtual dialogue, if we can set it up, why not talk for real. Anything is possible. That’s the whole point after all.

9 Comments

  1. vincent tan said,

    April 29, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    yes… we can change the world… it doesnt matter how hard the problem is… how tough the situation is… its our perseverance… its our will… its us… the youth… that will lead us through all of this…

  2. lei said,

    April 29, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    i am watching your group right now on ANC. good luck, i hope we all help each other to move this country forward🙂

  3. April 29, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Here’s a blog worth waiting for its first few posts.

  4. E. A. said,

    April 29, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Hi! I’d just like to ask when voters’ registration for the 2010 Elections will start. I turned 18 a few months after the May 2007 Elections and wasn’t able to register for the October 2007 Elections either.

    I know it’s rather early to wonder about registering for 2010; but I really believe that wanting actual reforms in government starts in electing leaders who have a genuine sense of concern and responsibility for the welfare of the country. The 2010 elections will be very interesting, as the current president will not at all have another chance of running once more.

  5. Joan said,

    April 29, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I saw a part of your interview on Strictly Politics and I would like to know more about what you are doing and what you propose WE can do to make our country move towards a brighter future.

  6. avocadolife said,

    April 29, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I was flipping channels on cable tonight and saw your group at “Strictly Politics.” You had an interesting discussion and somebody plugged this blog so I checked to find out that it’s hot off wordpress and that I’ll technically be the first to comment.

    In this note, welcome to the blogosphere!

    To start the ball rolling so to speak, let me relate to you my experience and therefore, my perspective in living life in our country. I am a freelance graphic designer, in my 30s, single, and doing my best to earn an income to support myself and my aging parents. My father has a medical condition which greatly limits his mobility. By this I mean he requires care-giving services. The only income they have is their measly pension which roughly covers their monthly medications. My reality is, however much I earn, this is pared down by taxes, further by bills and more so by basic living expenses.

    I am commensurately remunerated by my clients and I can say that I’m doing my best since they keep me in their payroll. I do not aspire to amass wealth. I work for a comfortable life and to save a substantial amount for my eventual retirement. But at the rate I’m going, I’d probably still end up insolvent. So to phrase my situation in a rhetorical question, what’s wrong with this picture?

    The only answer I can think of is that the socioeconomic and political system has failed me. However industrious and productive the workforce is, when the powers that be (at the top) do not allow the equitable distribution of wealth to the bottom, no amount of toil will be well-compensated. I am not talking only about salaries per se but the mechanisms, put in place primarily by the government, that eat up whatever income an employed hand has made and do not allow equity among citizens.

    The solution might lie in, to use a loaded term, “benevolent” leaders. By this I mean, leaders who understand that there is, pardon my rotundity, a systemic system failure and who have the courage to unequivocally rectify the problem. I think the solution must only come from the top down. I surmise if it were from the bottom up, it would be an armed revolution. My problem with the latter is that I consider anything reactionary as just that – a reaction, not a solution. A mob not cognizant of how to remedy a failed system compounds its failure.

    As a solution coming from the top entails electing right leaders, this highlights the fact that elections are a prerequisite. Hence, there is an immediate need for electoral reforms. What do you think?

  7. April 29, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Hi,

    I saw earlier Strictly Politics which discuss about current nation’s issues and the view of our Young Turks. Well, I’m not even a political man nor someone who works in public service. I’m just an ordinary young man with lot of thoughts running in my mind right now.

    There are rice issues wherein the gov’t still playing BLIND and saying there’s no rice shortage. This rice shortage is not only happening here in our country but other countries as well. What should our government do? Do they should continue making “papogi” with those low cost NFA rice wherein it’s purpose of selling it to the poor clearly is not happening right now. Family Access Card?, No selling to young ones? Do these poor people need to wait LONG hours on the line in order to get 2 kilos of rice? Is that what the government wants? I can really see that rice could be a political tool especially for poor people. If politicians wanted to earn votes of the “masa” they can use rice as a tool to get votes from these people, right? Well, this is only one issue that I can type as of now but there are a lot running in my head. ’till next time. ciao!

  8. javailajr said,

    April 30, 2008 at 12:19 am

    hi there!.. i recently watched the Strictly Politics at ANC talking about Young Turks the reason why i am here now..

    Keep this Blog goin! this could be soon a big help.. New idealism. New approach. i like it🙂

  9. bonifacio26 said,

    April 30, 2008 at 5:26 am

    The problem with our country today is comes from the top. Since the head is suffering from credibility problems, the people have no trust in government anymore.

    The reason why the group of “young turks” was formed is that we wanted the youth to get involved, know the issues, and take action. After all, the youth will be the ones to inherit this country.

    Kilos na Kabataan, makilahok at makialam na!


Leave a Reply

