photo of bukidnon rep. tg guingona

bukidnon rep. tg guingona

9 Comments

  1. May 5, 2008 at 3:11 am

    http://nakupo-nakupo.blogspot.com/

    i have visited the link above,it is the blogsite of rep. guingona. it contains privilege speeches and interviews that he recently did. the entry that i liked was his privilege speech entitled “failure of leadership, failure of command” it is about Maj. Aquino who one night just did not come home and to his family’s surprise, he was imprisoned in the Intelligence Service Group (ISG), which most of us know, is where people are brought to be tortured. the abu sayaff were the ones to regularly visit the maximum security prison. it is just frightening that an individual can be suddenly arrested without even the knowledge of people close to him. it is a true displeasure for people to not know where their loved ones are.

  2. May 5, 2008 at 6:34 am

    As I read the privilege speech, I said to myself, “there is nothing new with these stories on AFP”. But I can’t help it but to worsen my feeling to the government.

    Ever since, I must admit, I do not like PGMA but I am fair enough to give her the chance to do her job and prove her worth as the 14th president. However, as time passes by, the situation becomes worst because of the incessant controversies that put her name and her government at stake.

    There are innocent people who are always affected with what is happening around. These guiltless Filipinos didn’t do anything wrong but they are the one who were directly harmed and damaged.

    Because of the selfishness of some people, others are suffering; their live become miserable. Like in the case of Jason Aquino, the happy family they wish to build is now hard to achieve. These simple people, who hope for a change and dream of a better life, come to perish because of the abusive people in the government.

    Hey, when will you realize that that would always be heaven for good deeds, and hell comes along for such stupid acts.

  3. May 5, 2008 at 8:11 am

    It’s really unfair for someone to judge another for something we cannot prove against him or her. This situation that happened only signifies that we still need a lot of change. Change in the government, in the society, in the military, in the Church and in our nation as a whole. Change is not done overnight. It’s gradual. It can be difficult. But it’s possible. The speech has a lot to say. It doesn’t just want to expose the truths concealed from the public eye.

    It’s really disappointing even if we’re not sure they really did that thing. It’s really bad we blame others just for the sake of having to blame.

    Our country needs our prayers. In the future, I know all will be well, if we have just people who will be accountable for their own behaviors.

    At the end of the day, everything would be just between a heroic success and a devastating failure.

  4. May 5, 2008 at 8:13 am

    The privilege speech of Rep. Guingona entitled “Failure of Leadership, Failure of Command” is a powerful instrument to inform the people on the embarrassing realities and disappointing commotions around us. After reading his speech, I realized that there is no such thing as “perfect justice” because no one is exempted from the cruel realities of life, even the ordinary Filipino could also be a victim of maltreatment from those people who have the power to do so.
    I never thought that there are people who tortured and accused innocent people with the crime they never did plus the fact that they made their lives miserable. I feel bad because it is hard to accept that some people are acting as if they have the right to hurt others and they are the mightiest creature by doing those. I can’t imagine myself in the situation wherein one of my loved ones is also suffering with the same stuff.
    Justice is a simple word but it would take a lot of sacrifices and fights before these soldiers would achieve it. Let’s help them to and support them in their fight that’s the best thing we could do.

  5. May 5, 2008 at 8:32 am

    The Armed Forces of the Philippines always had a negative impression on me. Every time I see news reports about their rebellious activities against the administration, it occurs to me that they are the bad guys because of such negative highlight on them. Not until I have read the speech of Mr. Teofisto Guingona entitled “Failure of Leadership, Failure of Command” did I realized that they are just victims of such manipulative power of their ruler. The speech indeed divulges the truth long concealed, which I believe the public deserves to know.

    If I were the soldiers, perhaps I would have done the same. I would choose to withdraw my support to the administration if I feel that they are not worth serving for. I won’t pressure myself to go against my convictions and stand for what I always believed in=- even if torturous imprisonment is the price I have to pay.

  6. Charmaine said,

    May 5, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Comment on Cong. TG Guingona’s Privilege Speech: Failure of Leadership, Failure of Command

    I used to believe that these soldiers have been detained because they withdrew their support for Pres. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. I never knew that there is a darker story behind it and sadly, most people are not even aware of it.

    I personally believe that the problem with most of our leaders is that they’ve been very abusive of their power. It seems to me that everybody wants to rule over everything. As in EVERYTHING. It scares me to think of as to how far these people would go, and what else could they do in order to stay in power.

    The thought really frightens me.

    Furthermore, I feel for the family of these soldiers. I mean, I couldn’t even stand imagining my own father in the soldiers’ situation. These soldiers have dedicated their lives protecting this nation and our people, so this was just not the kind of treatment they deserve.

    I thank Cong. TG Guingona for exposing this and I commend these 28 soldiers for standing for what they believe in.

    The government has disappointed us in so many ways already and I think it’s just right for us to make a move.

    Gising, Pinoy! Gising!

  7. May 5, 2008 at 8:44 am

    I was surprised with what I have just read.

    First, I remember that everytime the military who were allegedly charged of mutiny are being shown in television, they seem to appear like they are really devil’s advocate. That’s how news and some government officials project them to be- like they are totally threats to the country’s stability. But really, never did it occur to me that these people could be just another victims of the unjust and anomalous hands of the ruling administration.

    It broke my heart thinking how their families felt when their loved ones are being incarcerated and treated inhumanely without even the decency of having them informed. I mean there weren’t even enough bases to charge these people, anyway.

    I am just wondering that if these people who are seated right now could do such cruel actions just to assure them of their power and authority, then we should not be confident enough that we are in good hands.

    If they could not care less of their personal interests, then it’s not proper for them to be called public servants.

    I thank Congressman Teofisto Guingona III for taking the side of the victims’ families. The speech opened my eyes to see the other side of the story being concealed from the public.

  8. May 5, 2008 at 11:31 am

    I’m perfectly sure that the Armed Forces of the Philippines do not like being called “Armed Forces of Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.” Not all soldiers blindly follow the leader of our country. The sad thing is that those soldiers who have minds of their own never rise in their ranks. Want proof? Please visit TG III’s site. http://nakupo-nakupo.blogspot.com/

    Animals don’t deserve that kind of treatment. What more if those treated that way are human beings?

  9. Dickson said,

    May 8, 2008 at 4:05 am

    Everyone seemingly suffers from such monopoly of NAPOCOR to our electric resources, especially those who hardly earn their meager income. Personally, I think NAPOCOR sometimes take advantage of the fact that they have no competitor in the line of service, hence their subscribers (which is literally all Filipinos) have no choice but to give in to whatever decision they would have in pricing our electric consumption. Having said that, if they would choose to increase electricity consumption price, we are left with no choice but to pay our unreasonable electric bills. I just hope the EPIRA law would work out sooner so as to put off the monopolistic dominance of NAPOCOR to the generation of our electricity.


Leave a Reply

