Madonna Decena and Our Brave OFWs

OFws are our nation’s modern heroes, we have heard this so many times that it seems trite and grating. But watching the stories of OFWs like Madonna Decena, a contestant on Britain’s got talent whose video is attached, and you realize how true the hero monicker is. Personally, while I appreciate their sacrifices, I wish they did not have to be heroes, meaning that perhaps if we had more options in the Philippines, we would not need our OFWs to venture out and expose themselves to abuse and exploitation. And what about the great social cost – the toll on families, the lack of father or mother figures for our youth, and the consumerism that occurs when children are given money, cellphones, gadgets, etc. instead of guidance?

– Atty. Adel Tamano

5 Comments

  1. jiancarlocristi said,

    May 4, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Unfortunately it is what society has dictated. Consumerism has been a “fad” even before the start of the 20th century. Plus the way the government handles issues/problems. Instead of finding the root causes and long-term solutions they would just act hastily without noticing that they are giving the wrong “bitter gord”

  2. Chino said,

    May 5, 2008 at 2:30 am

    I just want to react to your statement in the radio show that “those who are in the administration will have a hard time in your group because they are part of the problem”. Do you not realize that the opposition is ALSO a big part of the problem?

  3. avocadolife said,

    May 5, 2008 at 11:45 am

    If I had great wealth, I’d set up progressive and research-and-development centered industries all over our country and provide jobs with commensurate salaries, full benefits and continued professional training to my countrymen. In this way, I’d have made my businesses sustainable and globally competitive while extending equity to my employees. Now, why have our taipans not thought of this? I hope they’ll take pause and think of it.

  4. Remitter said,

    May 16, 2008 at 5:25 am

    This is a problem that has haunted the country for so many years. Why is there a need to part ways with heroes who are fully capable of helping the economy. For so many decades the skilled workers from Philippines have gone to foreign countries and offered their services. Had the economy provided similar opportnuties, these OFWs might not have thought of leaving their loved ones behind. On my blog- http://remitter.wordpress.com/ a fellow blogger shared his sentiment and said that moving out was not a decision but a necessity. This I feel is the general mood. Philippines should earnestly try to improve its condition, otherwise it’ll continue to lose some of the best talents to other countries.

  5. April 17, 2009 at 3:47 am

    Exactly I know the feeling of our co-pinoys working overseas even if it costs our lives for our family! I can’t help but to cry now when I watched Madonna Decena on YouTube despite other pinoys persecuting her? I don’t know her at all but I believe she meant by heart when she sings! We, Filipinos should show to the world that we support each other instead of acting like crabs pulling someone down in a split of seconds…
    I worked as a teacher in other Asian country and westerners still could not understand why we pinoys need to support our families back to the Philippines (literally sending back some part if not whole at times of our wages). I often reply, we don’t send our old folks to “nursing homes” and looked after by strangers and so with families who got kids & spouses left in the Philippines. I do appreciate and very grateful that most Asians and Africans do still keep our culture “family-ties” despite the poverty or rich people taking advantages instead of uplifting our nation! (While other commonwealth nations take for granted of their government’s financial support or use it wisely to invest for their future…)
    I would agree to what ‘avocadolife’ has commented above and I’m grateful that I’m married to a husband (westerner) who became more passionate after we got married as an entrepreneur after learning that we pinoy families really stick together as “a family” no matter what!!! From his heart deeply expresses to me at times that if he’s given an opportunity he would choose Filipinos to “outsource” jobs in God’s perfect timing!

    All the best oppositefapathy! I like your blog! keep it up!
    Jennifer & Brian Baulch in Australia at rechargelife.org


Leave a Reply

