Are the Young Turks Running in 2010?


Are the young turks running for the Senate or for some other public office in 2010? I cannot answer for the others but allow me to answer spliceanddice’s question directly and honestly, although I’m not sure that my answer will satisfy. Spliceanddice wrote today that –

“Some of the guys in “The Young Turks”, if not all, are eyeing high positions in the 2010 elections. One quick and frank question (which, eventually, all these things here boil down to) so that we can set the record straight here:

Are you guys (Mayor JV, Prof. Danton Remoto, Congressman TG Guingona, Gilbert Remulla, and Atty. Adel Tamano) running for the Senatorial positions in 2010?

That would be a fine question to begin with. On my part, I’ll keep the comments and criticisms–both positive and negative—coming once my question, as part of the youth you guys are addressing here, is answered. Thanks!”

Simply, my answer is I don’t know. Do I want to run for the Senate? Well, yes, because, among other things, Filipino Muslims have not had a representative in the upper house for over a decade. But I don’t want to run and lose because losing will not be just a personal tragedy but it will ultimately undermine, if not destroy, the chances of future Filipino Muslims of being elected. So the decision to run, which is distinct from the desire to represent Filipino Muslims, will be based on a lot of things and is, by no means, a simple matter.

However, I don’t think that this blog should be viewed from the lens of political opportunism alone. That would be unfair. Read the entries here, not just from the young turks but from the comments, and you will find that there is a wellspring of idealism and nationalism that is being tapped into by this web log. On my part, this blog is a means of engaging that wellspring, particularly because being a political spokesman can, if you let yourself get lazy and uncritical, become demoralizing and it can make you cynical. I don’t want cynicism to become a part of me and this initiative – corny as it may sound – is helping me by meeting, even if only on a virtual plane as of yet, Filipinos who are not apathetic and who have hope for our country’s future.

– Atty. Adel Tamano

9 Comments

  1. Oskie said,

    May 7, 2008 at 2:04 am

    If any of the Young Turks should decide to run in 2010, I would surely support them. It is now the time for the new generation to come in and replace the Trapos.

    The Young Turks hopefully are not anything like the Spice Boys, who all turned out to be young Trapos and are living their lives licking GMA’s hand!

    Go Young Turks!

  2. Jose Maria Robledo said,

    May 7, 2008 at 3:34 am

    I love the philippines!! hehehehe

    crazy as it may sound, i always introduce myself beginning with those simple words..

    I’m for the administration side and i support all of their propagandas and plans for our country, but i’m also looking for a change, and with you guys… you are giving me confidence that we can do better.. i don’t wanna be part of those people who quarrel in front of the camera and saying he knows all the truth, Brother, let me give my support to your group.. I also want changes, to make it more better..

    Brother adel run for President

  3. meranao girl said,

    May 7, 2008 at 9:24 am

    ever ask yourselves why people don’t seem to care??? we’re simply full of our politician’s shenanigans! nothing really changes if you think of it, we all see the same faces! the very people that we were sick of are the very same people who are shouting for change!!! gimme a break!!!

  4. meranao girl said,

    May 7, 2008 at 9:30 am

    ever wonder why people don’t seem to care??? we’re simply tired and soo full of our politician’s shenanigans! the people whom we were so sick and tired of, are the ones who are shouting for change??? gimme a break! nothing really changes, same faces! it’s a vicious cycle! we’re not really apathetic u know, we’re just tired!!!

  5. Karl Garcia said,

    May 7, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Adel,

    In our batch (In HS) we have congressman Albert Garcia,although he is an administration congressman I will be supporting him if he runs for the senate.

    About the young turks responsible for this site, thanks for gthis site and we need fresh faces, besides there are many senators over seventy.

    Adel, if not 2010 will you run sometime in the future.

    Having said that, I have to say that I am not against old turks for personal reasons.

    I have to share that my dad is an adviser of one of the senior citizens in the senate,but his young turk congressman son might run for the senate in 2010. Speaking of young turks, with the help of the old turk(s) I have mentioned a young turk who cannot even hold office can be heard. That young turk has his own version of the baseline bill ,that I hope will not be in the backburner,notwithstanding our mounting problems of rice,oil,overpopulation,which is turning into a pefect storm.

  6. xtatoo said,

    May 8, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I dont mind about young turks,its cool,but I hate na nkasali ang LadLad ang laswa igalang nman ang bansa,la nmang mga ganyan sa japan korea kung cno p ang may mayayamang bansa,

  7. May 11, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    @xtatoo

    that’s the same thing they said back when women were trying to enter politics. Today, it’s an entirely different story. Get the rub?

  8. RENEGADE1978 said,

    September 24, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Whether this so-called young turks will run or not in the coming 2010 national elections, one thing is for sure they somehow give the youth hope and inspiration..I believe, the youth should change the Philippine politics..We must stop recycling traditional politicians..Sometimes the problem really is from the electorates, they never learn from their mistakes..

  9. wehavenoname said,

    September 25, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Dear Renegade.1978,

    Thank you for your support and encouragement. Whether we run or not, we will try to help the country in our individual and collective ways.

    Salamat po,

    Danton


Leave a Reply

