Adel Answers Phoenix’ Ten Questions

Now, this is what I’ve been looking for – interaction with our fellow bloggers. Hi Phoenix, Adel here. I will answer the questions that you sent as honestly and candidly as I can while simultaneously resisting the urge to be “profound” or “safe” with my answers. I’ve copied your post and I will answer the questions directly –

Q1. The genie tells you, “Master, you have 3 wishes.” What are they?
A1. Three wishes:
1. That my eldest son Santi who has PDD-NOS (Pervasive Development Disorder-Not Otherwise Specified) be able to live a full and healthy life.
2. Health and safety for my family.
3. A decent job, home, and education for every Pinoy.

Q2. You’re Young Turk by day, secret superhero by night. Which one are you and why?
A2. Superman. Because as an ethnic Filipino Muslim and Maranaw, I feel sometimes as alien as the Kryptonian.

Q3. It’s the rapid fire segment of the show. Boy Abunda looks you straight in the eye and asks, “If you were a song, which one would you be and why?”
A3. “Hush” by LL Cool J. It’s old school but still hip and the lyrics discuss things that I value – love, family, and taking success and failure in equal stride.

Q4. There’s been quite a lot written about you guys. What do very few intimates, if at all, know about you that would shock/surprise people?
A4. That I have a vampire fetish.

Q5. What for you is heavenly or sublime? No answers involving wives, children or public service.
A5. Kobe Bryant scoring 81 points.

Q6. Favorite restaurant, movie, play.
A6. Restaurant – Cyma
Movie – toss-up between “Return of the King” or “Jerry Maguire”
Play – toss-up between “Merchant of Venice” and “Macbeth”

Q7. You’ve been chosen as a contestant in the new season of Amazing Race Asia. You’ll need a teammate you can work well with, and bathing happens only once every few days ’till you get to the pit stop. Who’s your partner?
A7. My wife, of course!

Q8. Whose body would you want to have?
A8. Piolo Pascual’s

Q9. Your greatest vice.
A9. Vanity

Q10. Your campaign is in full swing. It’s 100 degrees in the shade, and you’ve smiled, sang and danced ’till your weary body can take it no more. You’re standing onstage making your very last speech before you call it a day. What is your message to the Filipino people?

A10. Just bear in mind that it has been almost two decades since our country has had a Muslim Senator.

27 Comments

  1. phoenix said,

    October 31, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Wow, that was great, so much fun to read! How very generous of you to indulge me.

    Regarding A1, what is PDD-NOS exactly? We do have some very good, devoted teachers/therapists in Manila. My son had a speech delay when he was 2. We were blessed with an incredible speech therapist, and after a few weeks, he began talking non-stop. Santi looks like a very sweet boy (both of them do) and he’ll be in my prayers. A2, Why do you feel like a Kryptonian? I was sure you felt like the King of PLM and the GO universe. You’re married to a Christian – we’re not that strange, are we? A4, You like the immortality part, or the drinking of blood to survive? A5, Did you watch the Lakers game on tv last night? A6, That’s where you went for your birthday, right? Isn’t the food all garlic? Doesn’t that drive vampires away? A7, Not Danton? Tell us about your wife. A8, It’s nice ba? I’ve never really noticed his body. A10, We know how you feel about your Dad. What role did your Mom have in shaping you?

    Adel, I’m sure that at times it’s felt like you (and Danton) were the only ones keeping the blog alive, that it’s a thankless job na, you get the occasional jab pa (not from me). I hope you know that your effort isn’t lost on me and all my fellow bloggers, and that you’ll continue to write. Not everything you post has to be Pulitzer Prize winning material. I can think of a thousand things you can write about: What was it like teaching for the first time? What was it like growing up in such a big family – did they treat you like the baby? Do you get flattered with all the female (and male) attention you receive? Who do you want to see on the cover of FHM? Tell us about your love story with your wife! (Yes, it’s obvious that I am a girl and looove love stories.) There’s an Obama Corner, how about a Moro Corner, wherein you teach us new things about Islam and what it’s like being a Filipino Muslim. My neighbors are Jewish, Chinese and Indian. We love to walk together at night, find any excuse to get together for dinner, and I find their respective cultures fascinating. I even enjoyed trying to figure out what Sobair was saying. Is Maranaw a dialect too?

    Thank you again for being so game about the Q & A (not as naughty as Danton’s). We bloggers look forward to hearing more from you.

    Phoenix

    • phoenix said,

      May 29, 2009 at 3:09 am

      “If someone has a girlfriend, don’t go in and try to steal him.”

      Vicki Belo’s statement says it all. Adel, how you must have been so horrified when those words came out of her mouth with all those cameras focused squarely on her. She certainly got her, uhm, revenge.

      I saw Hayden and Vicki at Inagiku in Makati Shang holding hands a few weeks ago. They’ve definitely not broken up.

      (Hi, Danton. I haven’t written in a while. I’m sure you won’t delete me, right? Best to you both.)

      • phoenix said,

        May 29, 2009 at 3:14 am

        P.S. Tita Lorna’s reaction to the water pouring on Hayden’s head – good. Hayden’s – let’s just say that acting is clearly not one of his many talents.

  2. cibolo said,

    October 31, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Wow! Papa PIOLO, even a very handsome man wants the body of PIOLO PASCUAL!

    Piolo, you are the only and only sexiest, handsomest man alive!

  3. October 31, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    1)Can you possibly be the bridge between Muslim and Christian Filipinos?

    2)Aren’t you concerned about antagonizing the hotheads in the MNLF with your more moderate views?

    3)Why do you associate with the the tradpols in Genuine Opposition?

    The EQualizer

  4. Aya said,

    November 10, 2008 at 4:00 am

    Hi there Idol Adel!
    I’m a Pol Sci student from MSU-IIT. I hope you can visit us here and give your insights about the silent All Out WAR issue in Mindanao, and you can check it for yourself also the situation of our muslim brothers and sisters in evacuation area.
    I Hope you can drop by sa campaign site na ginawa ko for you. it’s entitled Adel for 2010, pero under construction pa siya. So maybe next week I can post the link.

    Wassalam!

  5. Aya said,

    November 11, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Hmm, someone deleted my comment or was it just my browser? =(

  6. Adel Tamano said,

    November 12, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Hi Aya, this is Adel Tamano. Thank you so much for your support. I am very concerned about the war in Mindanao, which is a complicated problem but one that cannot be solved unless Muslims and Christians work together. Please keep me posted about the campaign site, I will definitely visit it.

    I don’t know if you are Christian or Muslim but I appreciate your concern for the issue of the “all out war.” It is an issue that affects all Filipinos and our country will never fully develop unless we find peace in Mindanao.

  7. batgirl said,

    November 12, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Hmm, a site for Adel’s campaign. I’m getting visions of his head pasted on Piolo’s shirtless, dancing body while the jingle for Voltes V plays in the background. Aya, we’re anticipating the completion of your site with baited breath.

  8. Aya said,

    November 12, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Hello again idol Adel. At last, sinagot mo rin post ko. I can die now, lol. Kidding aside, you really made my day. Thank you.

    Yes Adel, I’m a muslim. You are right when you said that problems here are can only be solved if Muslims and Christians will work together, and I believe I am doing a bit good on that. Last 3 weeks ago,a National Interfaith Humanitarian Mission was held and I feel privilege to be part of that, together with Bayan Muna Rep. Ka Satur Ocampo. As what I observed with the situation of our Muslim brothers and sisters there (evacuees on Monai and Poona Piagapo), they are really neglected not just by the goverment but also by some of the muslim leaders, who supposed to help them at this point of time. Some of our muslim sisters felt devastated and discouraged with the kind of help they get. But what made me cry was the sight of the muslim children. Kids are suffering from malnutrition and some got traumatized with the Ph soldiers.
    ~~
    Adel, I believe you personally knew my parents (Mr and Mrs. Rasuman), and my sister, who happened to be a PLM employee. =)

    ~~
    I’ll update you about the site. Probably, first week of December it will be launched. But I will visit here from time to time.

  9. am said,

    November 17, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Hi, Adel.

    Don’t you think that a large part of the problem in Mindanao is that some have a vested interest in ensuring that violence and chaos continue? It’s become increasingly apparent that the problem isn’t really about Jose from Manila vs. Ibrahim from Sulu – that is precisely what the Few want us to be distracted by. Filipinos are generally kind and easy-going. For a Few, peace in Mindanao means killing the goose that lays the golden egg – USAID, anti-terrorism and anti-communism allocations from the US, and others the public isn’t privy to (wasn’t it strange and disconcerting that Kenney was in Malaysia for the ill-fated MOA signing?). Maybe this is what the spotlight should be shifted to.

  10. Adel Tamano said,

    November 25, 2008 at 1:58 am

    This is in reply to Am and Aya. Let’s get straight to the point – I believe that there is some basis for the belief that there may be groups that would want the conflict in Mindanao to persist because peace would mean turning the spigot or faucet off from all the funding from USAID, AUSAID, JICA, and money for military and security operations, among others. But the problem is deeper than that because not only are there groups that benefit from the conflict but some sectors, particular those groups that continue to believe in violence as an option, cling to outmoded 1970’s paradigms of how to resolve the roots of the Mindanao conflict. The “utak pulbura” (“gunpowder for brains”) mentality afflicts not only some in the government side but also some in the rebel side of the peace problem.

    Until we have leaders in government and in the rebel group who are clear-eyed and visionary enough to be able to see a Mindanao that is peaceful, stable, multi-cultural, and tolerant, sadly, we are not going to see peace in our lifetime.

    Lastly, sorry if it takes a little while for me to respond. I greatly appreciate your remarks and your taking the time to discuss these issues with me.

    Best,

    Adel Tamano

  11. ginafe said,

    November 26, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    hi! Adel,

    Im a big fan of yours. hope you’ll run for 2010 senatorial candidate. I will vote for you and the rest of my family and relatives. Im planning to make a site for you. Idol!!! take care always… Hope you can visit us here in Iligan City.

  12. phat said,

    December 2, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    hi adel,

    i just want you to know that i’m really impressed with your acting in ONE TRUE LOVE. i’m a big fan of yours kaya pinanood ko yung movie… and you’re really multi-talented galing mo din kumanta. hopefully next time ikaw naman sa lead role.lol. anyway, thanks for your time reading my comments! take care!

  13. Aya said,

    December 5, 2008 at 2:00 am

    I really don’t know if it’s my browser’s glitch or what.

    I’ve been trying to post since last week and to no avail.

    If in any case this message will finally appear..

    I’ve done with the campaign blogsite. I used basic codes because I really have no time now to do much of web designing. I apologize if not meeting anyone’s expectation. But still, I still take pride for this blogsite for I believe, this is the first campaign blogsite made for Adel. =) I promise to make it look good soon as I have my luxury of time.

    For now, support the blogsite.

    http://www.adeltamano2010.blogspot.com

    @Adel, continue on doing good. You really make us proud.

  14. Adel Tamano said,

    December 6, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Hello Aya, ginafe, and Phat –

    Again, thank you for taking time to dialogue with me. Aya, wow! What a great website and I’m truly appreciative of what you have down. Many, many thanks. Ginafe and Phat, thank you for your kind words. I know I’m not a real actor or singer but I do enjoy the entertainment world as well, perhaps it is residual stuff from my young adulthood in Kundirana, the La Salle Greenhills singing group.

    The big issue now is Cha-cha and we are holding a big rally on Friday. What are your thoughts on cha-cha?

    Best,

    Adel Tamano

  15. Aya said,

    December 6, 2008 at 3:53 am

    You’re very much welcome Doc, i mean Atty. =)

    Pls inform me for some inputs that you want me to include..

    I’m not good at selling people but with you as my product, I am positive I’ll do best in this line. Hehe.

    Re-cha-cha..
    I’ve been and will always be anti-charter change.
    There’s no such thing as best system of gov’t. Whether parliament or presidential, central or federal form.. it really depends on the gov’t itself.
    We don’t need CHARTER CHANGE, we just need TO CHANGE.

    Instead of changing our constitution, our officials should start changing themselves (a wishful thinking)..

    Hopeless,
    Aya

  16. ginafe said,

    December 7, 2008 at 9:42 am

    talking about charter change hmm… im super against with that. whats the purpose of charter change? for me nothing! Its just a way of letting the president and the rest of her pets.(hehe…) to change or to add another constituition for their own benefits. But i hope it wont gonna happen.

    ginafe

  17. am said,

    December 7, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Right at the time when I knew that I didn’t love law school and wanted out, my law professor asked me to work on a special project in Malacanang, the Preparatory Commission for Constitutional Reform, chaired by Narvasa during Erap’s time. I could tell you stories about people you know well, both from the academe and GO that would make you cry with laughter, but I’m sure you don’t want me to go there. The commissioners who impressed me most were Dick Romulo, Felipe Gozon, Onofre Corpuz, Dondi Teehankee. Others just loved the sound of their own voices. We had funny nicknames for everyone. I so enjoyed the whole experience. Anyway, yes, I do believe that some provisions of the constitution can be improved upon. However, the intent of those who want cha-cha for the wrong reasons is so naked. I think that every Filipino should read our constitution in its entirety. It’s very light reading. What is your take on it?

  18. am said,

    December 7, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    I did watch One True Love and got such a kick out of seeing you on the big screen. I was waiting to hear you sing but it didn’t happen! You know what made the movie so funny? Audience participation. In a scene where the heroine was crying so pitifully, a sympathetic movie-goer shouted, “Huwag ka nang umiyak!” Everyone burst into laughter. In the last scene, Marian Rivera pleads, refusing to allow the tree to be cut until Dingdong goes back to her. He then comes bounding out of nowhere to “save” her. When they tearfully kissed and embraced, someone yelled, “Pwede nang putulin!” We all burst into laughter again. Looking forward to more singing and acting from you. I actually had to youtube “Hush” because I’ve never heard of it before. I know this is baduy but one of my favorite songs is The Promise – I chose to walk down the aisle to it, just strings, no vocals. Wouldn’t it be so cool if you released your own Greatest Hits cd? I’d line up for an autographed copy.

  19. marco polo said,

    January 5, 2009 at 4:51 am

    I agree with the milions of pilipinos whom i observed in the various provinces of our coumtry that we need people like adel tamano in the senate, let us invite friends and relatives to support him, and also let us find others like adel to be in the senate also. kabataan ang pag asa ng bayan, they have the fresh and broad mind needed by our country

  20. dan antonio said,

    January 10, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    you are right Mr. marco polo that we need the kind of people like adel tamano in the senate, i will suggest the other young brilliant peple like coco pimentel, ace durano, gilbert remulla and the others shall also be supported if they plan to be a SENATOR, para kong nakikita ang pag uunlad ng ating bayan kng mga matatalinong kabataan ang maupo sa senado, magiging mabuhay ang pamumuhay ng bawat filipino.

  21. vic diaz said,

    January 10, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Atty Adel Tamano wala kang katulad, ipinanganak ng public servant na si late Senator Mike tamano na walang dungis sa larangan ng serbesyo sa bayan, appointed man o elected, sana ipagpatuloy mo ang sigaw ng bayan mula pa sa ating mga magulang noong nag aaral pa sila at hanggang ngayon ay sigaw pa rin ng matatanda at kabataan yon ay ang pagbabago huwag natin tigilan hangang hindi nagbabago ang buhay ng bawat pilipino, sana maraming makatao at matatalinong kabataan na tAtakbo sa 2010 senatorial election, asuring you of my moral and physical support with my family. Isigaw natin ang CHANGE, CHANGE, CHANGE OF CHARACTER IN THE GOVERNMENT IS NOW BADLY NEEDED.

  22. marco polo said,

    January 16, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    For you, Atty. Adel tamano, I and the millions of pilipinos believed that you will be a good SENATOR if elected, so dont fail us, i am sure that millions of pilipino will suport you to be elected in the senate, you have the qualification of a good SENATOR.

    you will see in the campaign days for 2010 elections, your headquarters will
    be flooded by a great nos. of volunters and i am sure that me and my family shall be among them, the pilipino people want changes of personalities in the government by the people that has vision and direction like you.

  23. kimseo said,

    February 4, 2009 at 7:44 am

    hi sir adel!

    first, i want to thank you sir, dahil malaking pagbabago po ang nagawa nio sa plm at isa po ako sa mga naniniwala na isa kayo sa mga taong makakatulong ng bansa sa pagababago.

    sir, im also an avid fan of good times with mo and luckily, i have been alble to meet the guys and listened sa dalawang beses nyo po na pagbisita sa magic.

    gusto ko lang po magreact sa mga puntong inilatag nyo po sa programa.

    first, yung sagot nyo po sa unemployment, tama po kayo dun sir mahalaga po ang edukasyon. yung isa nyo pa pong point na sa 1 milliong graduates, kalahati lang nito ang available na trabaho. naniniwala po kasi ako sir, na hindi lang po tayo dapat dumepende sa foreign investors. although malaki yung nagagawa nila sa ekonomiya ng bansa, mas maganda po sana na hindi lang po sila yung aasahan natin kasi po at the end of the day, hindi naman po pilipinas ang nakikinabang sa fortune nila kundi po sila lang. tama mo na, tayong mga pilipino, dapat matuto na mag-invest din sa business/ entrepreneurship, pilipino tumutulong sa kapwa pilipino.

    pangalawa po, yung tungkol po sa pagbabago, sir although i agree with most people that you are one of the brightest and soon to be senator of the country, hindi po ako nag-aagree na if we believe that a person can make a difference, he should be involved in politics. tama po kayo na palakasan lang din po ng sikmura sa aspetong iyan. pero sir, 100 million minimum po yung kailangan sa senatorial race pa lang po hindi ba? sabi nyo po, if you were given 8 million, ilalaan nyo po sa pagbili ng computers at pagpapataas ng sweldo ng mga guro. kung iisipin po sir, its, 100 million is around 12.5 % higher than 8 million. kung sa ganoong paraan pa lang po sir, marami na po kayong matutulungan, ano pa po kaya kung yung 100 million ay ilaan sa mga programang higit na makikinabang ang lahat unlike po kung gagastusin po sa kampanya na at the end of the day, isa or ilan lamang ang makikinabang.

    iniisip ko po kasi sir, ang bansa din po natin ay nararanasan na ang hagupit ng global financial crisis, maraming ofw na po ang nawawalan ng trabaho, problems in education, malnutrition, poverty, work force, brain drain, ilan lamang po ito sa maraming problemang kinakaharap ng ating bansa. sa education pa lang po sir, sabi nyo po ang inilalaan po ng pamahalaan sa edukasyon ay 11% lamang po. kung iisipin po sir, 100 million ilang paaralan, comfort rooms, computers at internet connections po ang maaring ibigay po sa mga estudyante. ilang teachers ang makakaranas na tumaas ang sweldo sa 100 million.

    naniniwala po ako sir, na hindi po dapat natin iniaasa lang ang pagbabago sa kamay ng isa o iilan. ang pagbabago nagsisimula po sa ating sarili. too bad, many politicians are eaten by the wrong idealism of power and position.

    sana po ay mapakinggan nyo po ang aking reaksyon.

    salamat po sir at mabuhay po kayo!

    nawa’y dumami pa po ang mga tulad nyong nakikinig sa boses ng mamamayan. sadly, many only hear the cries of their pockets and the call of power.

    kimseo Ü

  24. marcobanderas said,

    February 9, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    hi kimseo, surely, i am not against with your comments, i think you are like me, thinking ways that will improve the living conditions of our kababayan, I just want to remind the nice lady, that there are good persons who were elected in the senate without a millions, like former senator rene saguisag and many more. it is just a matter of support from people like us, I am sure, if you and the others who have in mind for the good of our country will support Atty. Adel tamano, there’s no reason why he will not be elected in the senate this comming 2010 elections even without a millions of pesos.

    let us just invite friends and relatives to support him to all of his endeavors that will benifit the pilipino people, now and in the future, specially this coming 2010 elections. I also agree with you that 100 millions of pesos is a huge amount but not enough to help every pilipino, while one good bill that will became a law will be benifited not only the entire pilipino of today but even the unborn person of any nationality that will live or visit the philippines, how much more, if a good man like Atty. tamano will pass a 20 good bill that will became a law of the land, it might not be a woth of 100 millions but billions I think or maybe walang halaga.

    let us hope that atty. adel tamano will decide to run for senator this coming 2010 elections.

    Mabuhay kayong lahat supporters of adel

  25. dan antonio said,

    February 10, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    i agree with mr. bandedras that there are people without millions that were elected in the Philippine senate, because the filipino people supproted them morally, phisically and even financially when necessarry, so if we do it the same to Atty. adel tamano, becasue we believed that he will be a good senator if elected, then there is no doubt , he will difinitely win as a senator.

    I am sure that atty. tamano will be a good senator if elected in the senate, becasue when you look at him while speaking, you will see on his face that what he is saying are true, no lies at all. he is one of the filipino that we need to rebuild the philippine from the shaking economy to a strong republic.

    I will assure atty. tamano that i, my family and relatives will supprot him now and in the future specially this coming 2010 elections if he will run for seanator.

    regards to all supporters of atty. tamano


Leave a Reply

