Adel Answers Equalizers Questions

investiture-pic-family2

I’d like to answer some questions sent by the “Equalizer” – great handle, reminds me of one of my favorite 80’s tv series –

1)Can you possibly be the bridge between Muslim and Christian Filipinos?

– Having deep Muslim and moro roots and at the same time being married to a Christian and living in a predominantly Catholic community, I can appreciate both perspectives, which is a prerequisite to resolving a lot of tensions and conflicts between Muslim and Christian Filipinos. Also, unlike some in the moro community, I’m not stuck in a 70’s time-warp, holding on to the belief that armed struggle is an appropriate method for resolving muslim-christian differences and I don’t approach problems of discrimination from a mentality of anger and hatred towards the majority. I hate the discrimination but I choose not to hate the persons and groups causing the discrimination and marginalization. I don’t vilify christian settlers in mindanao as “land-grabbers”. Lastly, I believe lasting solutions to the Mindanao conflict can only come from a perspective that sees all sides to the issues affecting Muslim-Christian relations in the Philippines.

2)Aren’t you concerned about antagonizing the hotheads in the MNLF with your more moderate views?

Honestly, I don’t care about the hotheads in the MNLF and MILF or the civil society groups that have called me, among other things, a “former Moro”. Unfortunately for them, and I really pity them, they are stuck in two things – (1) the past; and (2) an orientation towards hate with an openness to violence. History has left them behind.

3)Why do you associate with the the tradpols in Genuine Opposition?

You have to look beyond the personalities and remember that a sizable segment of the population – the masa – supports them. The masa deserve a place at the table and deserve to have their views understood and articulated so that is why I associate with what some may call ‘tradpols”. Just remember that what may be a tradpol to you is a hero to the masa.

11 Comments

  1. Veritas said,

    November 4, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Let me get this straight. Your thesis is that you turn a blind eye because you’re in bed with those supported by the masa? Why not simply call it the lesser of two evils? We may like you, but we weren’t born yesterday.

  2. Phoenix said,

    November 5, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Adel, what’s with the deletions again? Veritas had a comment. If I didn’t know any better, I’d think that you actually want us to pack our bags and stop commenting. I was excited about the dialogue that would result from this blog but it seems that you won’t take anything other than bowing and scraping. Pretty disappointing.

  3. Phoenix said,

    November 5, 2008 at 5:53 am

    Moments ago, Obama said in first speech as President-elect, “I will listen to you, especially when we don’t agree.”

    Adel, what’s with the deletions again? Veritas had a comment. If I didn’t know any better, I’d think that you actually want us to pack our bags and stop commenting. I was excited about the dialogue that would result from this blog but it seems that you won’t take anything other than bowing and scraping. Pretty disappointing.

  4. Adel Tamano said,

    November 7, 2008 at 1:07 am

    Phoenix, I did not delete any comment. I post here but because of my schedule, I don’t have time to moderate the comments. Please don’t get mad at me about something I did not do. To the moderators of this blog. Unless its a simple attack without purpose or reason, let’s stop the deleting shall we.

    – Adel Tamano

  5. wehavenoname said,

    November 7, 2008 at 2:36 am

    Hello Phoenix,

    I just found Veritas’s comments buried underneath and approved it today. I try to access this blog every day, but sometimes (like the past two days), I could not because of faculty meetings and media interviews regarding the Vatican plan to have seminarians undergo pscyho testing before they are accepted. Objective: to make sure no priests will have gay tendencies.

    Ay. The seminaries might become ghost precincts.

  6. wehavenoname said,

    November 7, 2008 at 2:36 am

    Oh that was me, thank you = danton remoto

  7. Phoenix said,

    November 7, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Adel, all along, I thought that you were the one deciding whose comments got the ax. I apologize to you for that. It still is unsettling that I’ll read comments one day only to find them gone the next…. It’s just dawned on me. This is your blog so your managers or handlers can do whatever they want with it. I realize now that I’ve been behaving like an unruly guest at your dinner party – and I am never unruly – so I apologize, humbly excuse myself, and make for the door. I hope that you accept these delicate, little white flowers that I picked from my garden as a peace offering. Okay, that’s my thing, not yours. In this virtual plain I’m sending you a dvd of Kobe’s best plays ever, a Lakers jersey with which to watch it in, a burger, fries and an ice-cold bud.

    Danton, if your purpose in writing is to pacify me with your charm and wicked sense of humor… it worked. I’m sending you tickets for two to a rejuvenating weekend in Amanpulo, and a tub of arce ube ice cream to enjoy when you get there.

    Good weekend to you both.

  8. Aya said,

    November 10, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Hi there Idol Adel!

    I’m a Pol Sci student from MSU-IIT. I hope you can visit us here and give your insights about the silent All Out WAR issue in Mindanao, and you can check it for yourself also the situation of our muslim brothers and sisters in evacuation areas.

    PS: I Hope you can drop by sa campaign site na ginawa ko for you. it’s entitled Adel for 2010, pero under construction pa siya. So maybe next week I can post the link.

    Wassalam

  9. Kagya Kwan ako kangodaan said,

    March 4, 2009 at 5:38 am

    T Adel Tamano for saying that ‘i really pity them, they are stuck in two things – (1) the past; and (2) an orientation towards hate with an openness to violence. History has left them behind.’ I don’t know if you were really touched with the sentiments of Moro people. Moro are not stuck in the past, they are just fighting the rights that were once denied to them. Their(Moro Folks) weakness as uneducated in Western Ideas were exploited by outsiders. Hence their lands were taken away from them…yes the land that they defended from the Spaniards for almost 3 century. Did you know that the Spaniards saw the Lake Lanao just twice because of the strong spirit of Maranao warriors to oust envaders away from their lands. So here comes another envaders who took away their lands thru government policies that they were to conform ignorantly. Can you recall the NARRA? If not its up to you to dig about it. For me, my folks, through history books, they (Christians) were land grabbers. You know why the government did it because Malacanang at that time wanted to justify its jurisdiction over the already Sultanate Ruled MINSUPALA.? Because their were just few Christian populace in the region where Moros ruled almost century ago. Hear my voice…voice of ‘kalumbayan’. Kudos, idol.

  10. rachel said,

    June 3, 2009 at 4:00 am

    Sir Adel Tamano..

    ma I request your good office to accept my brother, Florence Magpantay in PLM.. unfortunately my brother did not pass the PLMAT.. we submitted some letter that came from a councilor. pls. accept him. tnx..

    goodluck to you for 2010

  11. rachel said,

    June 3, 2009 at 4:02 am

    my family hopes for your favorable respones. I’m a 4th year Student at PLM.. also a SK Chairman of our brgy484.. many tnx Sir Tamano.

    Godbless


Leave a Reply

